Instructor Self-Introduction

Christina Owens is a PhD Candidate in Cultural Studies at UC Davis. My (almost finished!) dissertation examines the labor and human rights activism of U.S. Americans living and working abroad as English teachers. I am interested in how ideas about race, gender, and justice travel and are transformed as bodies migrate across borders during our era of neoliberal globalization.

Personal:  I grew up in rural South Carolina, where the accents are so thick that I have to translate for some of my non-Southern friends who visit (Southern English–>Standard English). My hobbies are traveling, thrift-shopping, and writing. I really enjoy teaching and am looking forward to our time together in AMS 30!

About Christina Owens

Visiting Assistant Professor of Women's, Gender, and Sexuality Studies, Miami University
This entry was posted in Self-Introductions. Bookmark the permalink.